Skip To Main Content

Icon Navigation

Main Navigation Mobile

Header Links Mobile

Schools Trigger

Desktop Schools Menu


Header Links

Mobile Menu Button


Latin Honors System

Latin Honors System Will Celebrate More Graduates


This change was announced when the graduating class of 2025 was entering their freshman year.
In an effort to celebrate a greater number of deserving students and encourage a variety of academic pursuits, the Five Star District is changing the way it recognizes the academic excellence of its graduating seniors.
Starting with the graduating class of 2025, the district will transition to a Latin honors approach rather than selecting just one valedictorian and salutatorian from each school. This decision was announced when the graduating class of 2025 were entering their freshman year of high school. This year will be the last year that schools select a valedictorian and salutatorian for recognition at graduation.
In order to earn a Latin Honor designation, students must have a cumulative GPA (calculated at the completion of first semester of the senior year) of:
  • 4.250 and above - Summa Cum Laude
  • 4.000 - 4.249 - Magna Cum Laude
  • 3.750 - 3.999 - Cum Laude
Latin Honors (Summa Cum Laude, Magna Cum Laude, and Cum Laude) are widely used by colleges and universities and by a growing number of high schools across our state and throughout the country. As a result, it is familiar and understandable to parents, college admission officers, and prospective employers.